Stay in the loop

Never miss a beat with the latest in VET news delivered straight to your inbox.

Is your RTO Training Provider of the Year?

May 27, 2018

Every year the Australian Training Awards celebrate excellence within the VET sector. Categories cover awards for RTOs, businesses, and individuals, all with varying criteria and eligibility factors.

The Training Provider of the Year Award is split into three categories: small, large, and international registered training organisations.

And we think you should enter.

It’ll be worth it

In addition to the statewide and national recognition for delivering outstanding training, there are a number of reasons why an RTO should consider pursuing the award.

Winners and finalists will set themselves apart from competitors in a way which will be obvious to both potential students and industry talent alike. Awardees will also receive a place on the official award website, where visitors can read how these organisations work to exceed the competition and perform at a high level in all aspects of their training.

For RTOs still not convinced this award process is worth their time, there’s a $5000 cash prize up for grabs for each category winner.

For the purpose of the award, the size of a training organisation is determined by the number of qualifications offered:

Small and Large Categories

An RTO delivering less than 50 qualifications would fall within the small category, while organisations delivering any more are considered to be large. To qualify for either of these awards, an RTO must first apply and successfully win the corresponding state-level award for the location in which they deliver the majority of their training.


RTOs considering applying for the international award must be delivering training to both onshore and offshore international students. Unlike the other awards, International Training Provider of the Year does not require an organisation to have won the equivalent award at a state level in order to be eligible for the Australian Training Awards.

While the 2018 award applications have now closed, interested RTOs should be wasting no time in preparing next year’s application. Applicants are required to submit a broad range of organisational data as well as completing a detailed submission on how their RTO excels within the following five areas:

  • Leading practice in vocational education and training
  • Strategic planning processes
  • Student, employer, and market focus
  • Human resource capability
  • Partnerships and links

You can find out more about each criterion and the overall application process on the Australian Training Awards website.

Get the latest VET news and insights

VET moves fast. Stay informed, with blogs straight to your inbox.

Enjoy this blog? Please share using the buttons below